The Dark Side... - Victory Gunner Forum
User Tag List

#1 Old 08-28-2014, 10:56 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
The Dark Side...

Anyone know anyone who darksides? As in Car Tires on a Moto? Seems to be popular with the touring crowd...

http://www.ridermagazine.com/browse-...torcycles.htm/

#2 Old 08-28-2014, 04:07 PM

I'm new to touring bikes and cruisers, haven't heard of them, time to look into it.
#3 Old 08-28-2014, 04:29 PM

Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Its basically just putting car tires on a motorcycle. Usually just the rear tire. I've never been too interested in it. I thin the main advantage is that your tires last longer.
#4 Old 08-28-2014, 08:04 PM

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
On the ST1300 site there are a few "Dark-Siders". I think mainly for the initial cost and the additional miles.

Maybe not popular, but some are doing it. There is also an insurance question about voiding coverage and false claims etc.

It is irritating that GoldWing riders get twice the miles as my Sport-Touring bike and the Vegas 8-BALL. I guess the suspension is so much better (and heavier) that they don't need softer rubber.

I am gonna stick to motorcycles tires.... If I rode 20k plus miles a year I would maybe check it out.

DAC

Wow! Just watched the video. Best one I have seen of a GW rear tire! Would like to see that done in the rain.

Last edited by 8-BALL; 08-28-2014 at 08:23 PM.
#5 Old 09-02-2014, 08:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8-BALL View Post
On the ST1300 site there are a few "Dark-Siders". I think mainly for the initial cost and the additional miles.

Maybe not popular, but some are doing it. There is also an insurance question about voiding coverage and false claims etc.

It is irritating that GoldWing riders get twice the miles as my Sport-Touring bike and the Vegas 8-BALL. I guess the suspension is so much better (and heavier) that they don't need softer rubber.